Lagoon vs. Advancedframe, tandem vs. single..new to kayaking

AE1003-R(2002-2006), AE1003-O(2007), AE1023-O(2008), AE1033-O(2009)

Moderator: JCOOLEY

i3eezenotch

Lagoon vs. Advancedframe, tandem vs. single..new to kayaking

Post by i3eezenotch » Sun Aug 07, 2011 6:18 pm

Hey guys, I just recently learned about the existence of quality inflatable kayaks and am considering picking one up. I saw the advancedframe single kayak at a store and liked it, but I am considering getting a tandem so I can have someone come with me when I go. I had a few questions.

1) if I got the tandem and decided to go alone, is it a lot less versatile/fun to paddle than a single kayak>

2) What are the primary differences between the advancedframe models and the lagoon series? I am a student and don't have much money to spend, but I would love to get one of these. That said, it seems that the advanced frame versions are a bit more narrow and I suppose more versatile as a result of this. I also like the fact that you can move the seat in the advanced fram tandem to center it if you go alone.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thansk!
Mark

sonar

Post by sonar » Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:43 pm

Hi I3eezenotch

Welcome to the foum.

I do not know a lot about the model your talking about as I have the AF 10.5 but many others will be able to answer your questions.

Again welcome

JCOOLEY
Site Admin

Post by JCOOLEY » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:49 pm

MArk,

When paddling the AE1007 Convertible solo, you will not loose any performance. Because it is longer you will actually gain better tracking. Granted you will be paddling a heavier kayak, it still performs really well.