AE AF Convertible Maiden Voyage, Review, Issues, etc

AE1007-R(2005-Present), AE1004-R(2002-2004)

Moderator: JCOOLEY

MrPaws

AE AF Convertible Maiden Voyage, Review, Issues, etc

Post by MrPaws » Sat May 14, 2011 5:55 pm

I recently purchased the AdvancedFrame Convertible model from airkayaks.com. I am brand new to kayaking and water sports in general. Without any place nearby to test the AE product line, I read through every review and forum post I could find on the AE website, Amazon, paddling.net and elsewhere throughout the internet. My intended uses of this boat are fitness, leisure and short to medium duration class I & II river expeditions.

After our first time out today - despite rain, humidity, less than ideal temperatures (northern Indiana, southern Michigan), being a chunker and not knowing a thing about kayaking - I am positive that this was the right purchase.

I weigh approximately 335 @ 5'11" and my girlfriend is not a fatty like me, but has it in all the right places, so to speak. Our primary goal is to enjoy ourselves while getting in shape. I was extremely nervous despite what people had written here that my weight would simply cause the kayak to capsize, swamp, or otherwise not perform optimally. I can't believe how well this kayak holds my weight. I was even able to stand on the stearn. It was a snug fit in the kayak, but I didn't mind it at all. The thwart acted as a great place to put my feet against, as well. I was pretty amazed.