Yearly differences b/w models?

AE1009-R Ultralite(2006)
AE1009-Y Advanced Frame Expedition(2007-Present)

Moderator: JCOOLEY

DrKai

Yearly differences b/w models?

Post by DrKai » Fri Oct 03, 2008 1:00 pm

I'm new to the sport (or will be next year), as I have decided to purchase an Expedition before paddling season starts again after winter. Are there any differences between the models on a yearly basis? Or has the design remained unchanged since originally released?

JCOOLEY
Site Admin

Post by JCOOLEY » Fri Oct 03, 2008 1:57 pm

The Expedition model has been the same as of 2007

Jeremy
8)

SF48

Post by SF48 » Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:21 pm

In 2006 the Expedition was called the Ultralite Expedition, because it had a lightweight main air tube. There were issues with the material of the air tube, so then they brought out the regular Expedition and changed the color of the boat from red to yellow.

mad dawg

pre-2006 Ultra-lite

Post by mad dawg » Sat May 25, 2013 12:26 pm

I am looking at purchasing a used AE Expedition - the box lists the weight as 38 lbs rather than the current 42 lbs. Is this likely to have the issues with the main air chambers? Is there an easy way to tell? thanks.

Bojan_cro

Post by Bojan_cro » Tue Sep 29, 2015 1:04 pm

SF48 wrote:In 2006 the Expedition was called the Ultralite Expedition, because it had a lightweight main air tube. There were issues with the material of the air tube, so then they brought out the regular Expedition and changed the color of the boat from red to yellow.
When I requested an offer on Expedition and some kayak equipment from a web store, they answered me they only have kayak in red/orange color.

Can anybody from AE confirm that there was no Expedition kayaks produced in that color since the Ultralite Expedition model?

What about European market?

JCOOLEY
Site Admin

Post by JCOOLEY » Wed Sep 30, 2015 9:25 am