Paddling Blisters

AE5005 UltraLite Pack Paddle, AE2024 Packlight Paddle, AE2015 Touring Paddle, AE2034 Attack Whitewater Paddle, AE2035 Carbon Fiber Paddle, AE2030 Axis 230 Paddle, AE2028 Twilight Travel Paddle, AE2051 Orbit Paddle

Moderator: JCOOLEY

pribeiro

Paddling Blisters

Post by pribeiro » Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:20 am

Greetings.

I've been using my carbon paddle AE2035 for nearly 3 months, 1-2 times/week. When a paddle's new, it's normal that the hands suffer a bit, but my paddle is no longer new and my hands are still a complete mess every time I use it (pictures below).

I should stress I've been paddling for years using various paddles and I never had this experience before. I know that gloves can minimize the problem, but I'd rather tackle the root cause...

Has anyone experienced this? If affirmative, how did you solve your problem?

Thanks.
Pedro

PJohanson

Post by PJohanson » Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:28 am

Blisters are annoying! Are you still getting them?
I get smaller blisters on hot days when my hands are slipping on a dry paddle. That's after a winter wearing fingerless gloves, so maybe my skin is a little softer from being protected.
What sort of finish is on the shaft of your carbon paddle? Perhaps you could consult an expert in epoxy or fibreglassing. There's a local marine repair place in my hometown that I'd consult.
It looks as though your hands are slipping a little back and forth on the shaft of the paddle. Is the finish too slick? Would sanding the finish make it just barely rough enough that your skin didn't slip? That's the kind of question I'd ask the marine repair expert as I showed her my paddle.
If these blisters were on my heels in new hiking boots, I'd put moleskin on my heels, then wear two pair socks.

pribeiro

Post by pribeiro » Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:27 am

Thanks, PJohanson.